Venus
Nov 02, 2021
A Stranger on a Train

A Stranger on a Train

An encounter I'd never forget

After a long day and night of traveling across the world to reach one of my dream destinations I can't help but melt into my seat on the train. A young brunette woman sits across from me taking up an additional seat with her luggage and an older man with peppered hair who is next to me suddenly snaps open his phone and loudly greets whoever is on the other end.
I perk up a little when I see a service cart being pushed down the aisle in my direction.
My first coffee in Italy!
As the cart approaches I start to get nervous because its my first time speaking Italian to an actual human being and not my cat. The hostess looks down and me and sweetly asks, "Prego?"
I stumble over my words a little but with a nervous giggle I reply, "Posso avere un cappuccino per favore?" I did it!
She hands me my cup, some packets of sugar, and a biscotti.
I smile up at her, "Grazie." Well at least that wasn't totally embarrassing... I look down at my cup and pour the light brown sugary crystals on top of the thick foam, stir it, and take a deep breath of its tantalizing aroma. Mmm this smells amazing.
Before I can take my first sip my gaze is met by a handsome man standing in the aisle as the cart rolls to the next car. He has dark curly hair and even darker eyes with a hint of amusement. He's looking over at me, smirking and not fazed at all that I just caught him staring. I blush and look out the window.